Pepperdine Waves Women's Tennis host NCAA First and Second Rounds

03 May, 2018, 20:40 | Author: Suzanne Horton
  • Rickie Fowler at the 2018 Sentry Tournament of Champions

Six different regionals will be contested across the country and the top five teams from each regional will advance to the championship site in Stillwater, Okla., that will take place May 25-30 at the Karsten Creek Golf Club.

The 12th-ranked IL men's golf team will play in the NCAA Columbus Regional, hosted by Ohio State. Overall, the Big 12 qualified seven other teams to the NCAA Regionals. Ranked in the top 10 on CSU's career scoring chart, junior Jake Staiano is the only CSU player in this year's lineup with postseason experience, having qualified as an individual for last year's Austin Regional and tying for 38th.

Baylor enters the NCAA Championships with a 17-13 record against a challenging slate, which included 18 matchups against ranked opponents.

Freshman Livia Kraus, who was named to the Big 12 All-Tournament Team earlier this week, brings an eight-match win streak into the NCAA Championships. Aside from Nevada and Oklahoma, the field also includes Auburn, Arkansas, Florida State, North Florida, Pepperdine, BYU, Virginia, San Diego State, Sam Houston State, UMKC, Navy and Prairie View A&M.

"It's an exciting time for us", head coach Ryan Stotland said.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 14-16.

"It will be a challenge for us, but I have confidence in my team", said senior Robert Herrera.

Fowler and NBC Sports Group announced last month that they had teamed up for an Oklahoma State four-part docuseries, entitled "Driven: Oklahoma State Cowboys".

Vanderbilt and Florida will compete in the Kissimmee, Fla. region at the Watson Course at Reunion Resort while Missouri will be the lone conference representative at an ACC-heavy regional in Raleigh, the Lonnie Pool Golf Course. Of those 11 previous regional appearances, Notre Dame has only advanced to the NCAA championship once, finishing in 22nd place in 2011. Of the 81 teams, 31 were automatic qualifiers by winning their conference championships, and the other 50 earned at-large bids.

This marks the second time in as many years the Aggies will appear as a team in the NCAA Tournament. In recent years, the tournament has been dominated by power-five schools like Duke, USC, UCLA and last year's victor Arizona State.